Archive | August, 2008

Top 10 Landing Page Optimization Tips

Landing page optimization is nothing but a testing process to learn what works best on a page. Please understand that landing page optimization is different than landing page design.

A good landing page design should have some elements which have already been proved good through testing, while landing page optimization is the process of testing to know what elements of the page are actually faring better to get the best return on investment.

I have written an article on landing page design. Please read the article and return to this page.

NOTE: If you are using pay per click search engines to get visitors to your site, its a must that you optimize the landing page to get the best out of it, as you are spending money to get visitors.

One of the best things with PPC is that you can keep experimenting with the landing page without bothering about the SEO aspects (of course if the page is NOT ranked well for key terms), but if it is, my advise is to test a different page for testing purposes.

In such a case make a new landing page for PPC only. DO NOT link this page from any other page from your site. To be safe you can also insert a NOINDEX in the meta robot tag of the page.

You can do it this way:

<head>
 <meta name=”robots” content=”noindex” />
</head>

The NOINDEX meta tag tells the search engine bots NOT to index a Web page. This way the search engines will not be able to get this page and index, leaving you free to experiment with the page.

Its time to start landing page optimization.

1) Test the Headline: Webpage Headline is one of the most important elements of a page. As soon as the visitor lands on the page they read the headline. A very important decision is taken here, that is, whether to read further or to exit.

Remember to use some words like How, Why, What, Learn, Get etc. These words have been tested time and again and have proved to be working well in headlines. Read my article on why these words work.

2) Test Copy:  Page copy is important because its marketing-going-on. You have no idea where your visitors are, what they do, their economic status etc. but still you have to say the same thing to all of your site’s visitors. I hope you get the situation. The copy has to appeal to everyone reading it. Test your copy – Long Vs Short, Benefit Oriented Vs Feature Oriented, Bullets Vs Non-Bulleted copy, etc. Test whatever you think should be tested in the copy.

3) Price: A very much deciding factor before a purchase. And online its even more important because your visitors have no room for bargain. If they are comfortable paying they pay, else close the browser window.

There are many online business owners who keep testing their price until they get the one that gives them the best return on investment. Most of them test only the price. There is no formula here. Some of my clients see their sales increase phenomenally once they increase the price, but some see a decrease in sales. Vice-versa is also true.

A piece of advice: I have personally experienced that prices ending with 5, 7 and 9 work well. 9 is clearly the winner. This is one of the reason that you see so many websites selling stuff at *9 dollars. For example if you have a product that you feel comfortable selling at $100, try testing with $95, $97 and $99.

4) Urgency: What is urgency? Suppose you go to shop to buy a shirt and the shopkeeper says that only for today they are offering a 50% discount. What will happen? You will definitely have an urge to buy. This is urgency.

Give your visitors a discount (a true discount) for a limited time period. Test this against a no-discount offer and see which one wins. Point to note here is that the discount has to be a real one. For example if you say “Buy in the next 24 hrs or this discount will not be offered”, then the discount should actually vanish after 24 hours. This is important because it adds credibility to your business.

Also note that it is easier said than done. You may need a programmer to test this for you.

Urgency works well in most cases.

5)  Testimonials: Testimonials may not have a very deep impact on conversions, but it qualifies as an element to test. Interestingly we have had clients where keeping testimonials decreased conversions. Test these things: no-testimonial, 1 testimonial, 5 testimonials and 10 testimonials. Also test testimonials with and without photograph of satisfied customers.

6) Video and/or Audio Message: This is YouTube Generation. Who wants to read when they can see and listen? Putting a video sometimes prove to be very effective. You can test with no video and audio, video and audio and only audio.

7) Free Offer: Have you seen ads like “Buy 1 Get 1 Free”? You must have. These offers tempt one to buy. See what you can offer for free to your customers. No hidden cost – free should be free. Consider giving an eBook free if they purchase. Downloadable eBooks don’t cost a dime except bandwidth. There can be other offers too like free shipping.

8) Credibility: Organizations such as Better Business Bureau (BBB) offer a credibility trust logo that can be used in a website. You can apply to get a credibility logo from BBB here. See if a BBB trust logo improves conversions.

9) Single offer Vs Multiple offers: If you are selling multiple products on your landing page, try selling just one product, or if you are selling just one product try selling multiple products. See which one gives you the most revenue.

10) Call-To-Action Text: Call-to-action text should be tested. Call-to-action is the element that takes the visitor to the order page. Its good to test call-to-action text. Try testing these: Buy Now, Try Now, Order Now, Click Here, Click Here to Buy, Click Here to Order etc.

You can also try to make them images and test. Instead of plain text, try writing these on images and test.

Testing brings some amazing results. Without testing you will never know what will work best for your landing page. Mind it, guessing can be dangerous. Just because something has worked for someone does not mean that it will work for you. You need to test to get the best landing page optimization.

With AB split test you can test just one element of you page, but with multivariate test you can test many elements of your page simultaneously. Therefore I recommend multivariate testing as it reduces time taken to test.

You will need a software to test your landing page. I recommend Google Website Optimizer as it’s free and offered by one of the best companies online. Do I need to tell more about Google?

Here is the link to Google Website Optimizer:

http://www.Google.com/WebSiteOptimizer

Also you must have strong website analytics tool in place to track every result from testing. I recommend Google Analytics:

http://www.Google.com/Analytics/

Again, it’s free and will track most of the things required for testing.

If you test right elements I am sure you will get the right results.

Remember that landing page optimization is a never ending process. What will work today may not work after 6 months or a year. You may need to test again.

One last thing, landing page optimization requires lot of thinking, time and effort. But results can be sweet. I have seen people improve their conversion rates by 25% or even more.

Please help me improve this blog. Please leave your comments.

Posted in Website Conversion Rate ImprovementComments (5)

Google Suggest Keywords

You must have noticed when you type a keyword in Google search engine to search; Google offers real time keyword suggestions based on the text you have already typed. For example if you type “search”, these are the suggestions it may come up with – “search engines”, “search engine optimization”, “search and destroy”, “search people” etc.

This feature is also known as Google Suggest. More information is available here:

http://labs.google.com/suggestfaq.html

Prior to this, Google used to offer keyword suggestion in real time in their toolbar search.

http://toolbar.google.com/

But now they have included this in their normal search as well.

How can it help searchers?

You can get variations of the word you are typing and since its drop down you can select the keyword through your mouse pointer and Google will perform a search for that keyword.

Secondly it may give you a better idea of what you are looking for. It comes in-handy when you want to search for something but just can’t understand what to type beyond one word. Google suggest can help you with their suggestions.

It also tells how many results are there for that keyword in their database. Though I don’t think telling people the total number of results for a keyword is of much help.

How can it help Google?

Well it will help Google more than you can think. Since searchers will get keyword suggestions, it is more likely that they will find what they are looking for in their first or second search attempt.

This will result in the following:

 - The quality of the keyword used to search will improve.
 - The searchers will get exactly what they want fast so it is more likely that they will return to Google for more searches in future.
 - Hence Google will retain the customer base they have around the world.

Kudos to Google for being a very innovative search engine.

Note that Yahoo also offers keyword suggestions, and Live search offers “Related searches” keyword suggestions in the top right corner in the result screen.

With both Google and Yahoo you can switch off the keyword suggestions.

Posted in Search Engine NewsComments (0)

Tips for a Good Landing Page Design

Landing page design of a website is very important from business point of view. It’s so critical that it can be a decisive factor on whether you will remain in business or not.

Read this. On an average a visitor takes less than 5 seconds to decide to stay in the page or close the browser window / press the back button. It means in 5 seconds or less a landing page has to impress its visitors so that they may stay longer.

How can you do this?

There are some basics that webmasters need to follow when they design landing pages. These simple basics are tested many times and found to be good. However please understand that some may work and some may not work for your landing page. With time you will be able to optimize landing page for the best results.

Best practices for a good landing page design:

1) Keep your landing page neat: A clustered looking page just does NOT work. Let the landing page be simple and neat to look at. Don’t fill every nook and corner of the page with graphics and icons etc. Just one or two images are enough. Not more than one video if you want to use. Two or three paragraphs about the offer, service and/or product will suffice. Let there be space in between stuff – let your landing page breath.

2) Great Headline: Once the visitors get the overall feel of a page, they look for the headline. Remember the headline is the most important factor of the page. A visitor if impressed with the design will read the headline and decide whether to go ahead or press the back button. You will be surprised to know there are professionals who charge thousands of dollars just to write a headline. The headline is so important.

If you have money then let a professional write the headline (and content too) of your landing page. But if you cannot afford it, you can write it yourself or ask one of your friends good at content writing to write for you.

You will find good headline writing tips online. I suggest you use words like how, why, know, learn etc. they work well on headlines. Read my article to know why these words work well in headlines and content?

Follow your headline with a great sub-head too if you are using one.

Make sure the headline is complimenting the Ad you had written to advertise your site. If you ad says something and headline something else, then even if your headline is the best in the world – it won’t work.

3) Meaningful Copy: What follows after headline is the copy. After design it’s the headline, and after that it’s your page copy. Again there are professionals who can write the copy for you. Don’t worry (and surprisingly) copy writers charge less than headline writers. You will find many good content writers who write a 300 word copy for 10 dollars.

It is advisable if you get your copy written by pros, but again if you can’t afford, do it yourself. But make sure you are writing to the point and your copy is NOT distracting your visitor from the offer.

What should be in copy? Well I can write a different post on this but in short write the benefits your product or service can offer to the buyer. Writing benefits has been proved to be the best method of writing copy to convert a visitor to a customer.

4) Call to Action: The call to action should be clearly visible on the page. It’s best to keep call to action in two or three palaces in the page. One should be above the fold and one at the bottom of the page.

Make sure the call to action is on the page itself. It’s very irritating for the visitor if you tell them to click and then respond to call to action. I can understand that sometimes call to action is difficult to be kept on the same page, for example an ecommerce site has a lot of products where visitors can choose many products and then buy.

In such cases it best to keep at least one call to action on the page. For example using cookies to keep track of products kept in the cart (you must have seen many sites like these), or asking for email to make sure you can send them reminders in case they do not buy etc.

The idea is let your user take some action on the page before they leave the page/site.

5) Less Navigation: Let there be only basic navigation on this page. Too many links will only distract the visitor.

6) Trust and Security: If you can show some legitimate trust and security icons on the landing page it can work in your favor. Visitors feel comfortable buying from a site that ensures safety of their credit card number or any other private information they leave in the site.

7) Address and Phone No.: Presence of your physical address and a phone number where the customers can contact you will boost confidence of your visitors and they are more likely to buy a product from you.

These are some tips that you can follow for a good landing page design. However please understand that landing page design is different from landing page optimization.

Landing page optimization is done by testing the landing pages as this is the only way to know what works and what doesn’t for that particular landing page. Also note that if something works for a landing page its no guarantee that it may work for your page as well.

I have tried to help my site’s visitors know some basic landing page design concepts that have worked well for many advertisers. If you are using pay per click to get visitors then these tips are even more useful.

Please let me know what you feel about this article. Is there anything I can add/change to help my visitors?

Posted in Website Conversion Rate ImprovementComments (0)

How To Get Free PPC Ads

Whenever someone starts an online business they think of getting free PPC ads to get visitors to their site or affiliate links. If you are one of them don’t worry, we all at some point of time wanted free clicks for our website.

Nothing comes for free in this world. However there are ways to get free ppc ad clicks. And these tricks won’t cost you anything.

One of the best ways to get free ppc ads with Google, Yahoo and MSN and many other pay per click search engines like Ask, Miva etc is to look for the Free Coupon they offer through their affiliates.

At the time of writing this article, Google offers $50 coupon for free to advertise in Google AdWords. Yahoo Search Marketing too offers $50 coupon for free to advertise in their ppc program. Yahoo calls it a $50 credit. MSN adCenter also offers a $50 free coupon to advertisers.

Most pay per click search engines do come up with such offers from time to time to attract advertisers. Its best to grab these offers and advertise your site using the free credit you get. This way you don’t spend a dime in PPC advertising and you get free clicks too.

Once you start advertising it won’t take rocket science to understand should you continue advertising even after the initial free credit is over.

Here is some simple mathematics. Let’s suppose the average cost per click comes to $0.20. (You may get them for much lower. Google AdWords minimum cost per click for a keyword is 1 cent.)

You get 50*5 = 250 unique visitors per search engine. There are 3 search engines. Total unique visitor = 250*3 = 750.

750 visitors will give you a rough idea of what may happen if you continue advertising. Please understand that this may not be a significant result to know if you are actually making a profit or a loss, but will certainly help you to take a decision.

Here is some word of advice from business point of view. Let’s assume that you invested this money and it did not come for free. You’ll have to access the situation once the free credit is over. If you are making a profit, you can invest more and keep your ppc ads active to keep receiving traffic. If you are breaking even, even then I would suggest that you keep investing to get some more traffic to take a decision.

The problem is if you are making a loss. Ask yourself if this is acceptable. (My suggestion is a 10% loss is acceptable.) If you feel this is ok and you can take a little risk, invest more. However make sure you pause the keywords that are not sending you qualified visitors. For this you must ensure that good analytics software is in place.

I recommend Google Analytics. It’s free and records enough information to help you take an informed decision.

One more advice. Don’t just jump into signing up. Read carefully about pay per click search engines. You can read this site itself for some good information on ppc search engines. Read as much as possible before you signup with pay per click search engines to get free ppc ads.

You comments will help me to improve this blog. Please suggest what you would like to read in this site. I am happy to help.

Posted in Pay Per Click Marketing (PPC)Comments (0)

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